Decatur Public Schools Foundation

    2022-2023 Board Trustees and Professional Affiliations

    Our Trustees 

    The Decatur Public Schools Foundation owes its existence to the foresight of our original stakeholders. They recognized that public schools across the country were facing financial challenges that would only grow more daunting. They established the Foundation and defined its mission to organize private resources in support of District 61. Reviewing the list of past Trustees reveals why our organization has been so successful. The roster includes individuals who are fully devoted to this community and who remain active participants in charting its future. We’re proud to count such individuals as friends and continual advisors. 

    Decatur Public Schools Foundation

    Board Trustees and Professional Affiliations

    Decatur Public Schools Foundation

    2022-2023 Board Trustees and Professional Affiliations


    Members and Officers



    Dr. Rochelle Clark


    Decatur Public Schools - Superintendent

    Jennifer Cunningham


    ADM - VP of Human Resources

    Drew Early


    Decatur Memorial Hospital – President and CEO

    Nikki Garry

    Vice Chair

    Millikin University – Director of BIPOC Student Support

    Evyonne Hawkins


    Richland Community College – Professor of Education

    Caleb Jump


    Northwestern Mutual - Wealth Management Director

    Myung Kim


    Retired – Tate & Lyle

    Regan Lewis


    Brown, Hay & Stephens, LLP / Board of Education

    Shondra Lynch


    Busey Wealth Management – VP Private Wealth Advisor

    Dan Oakes


    Board of Education – President

    Theresa Rutherford


    HSHS St. Mary’s Hospital – President and CEO

    Chelsea Sargeant


    Caterpillar – Supply Chain Management

    Kathy Thompson


    Retired – Decatur Public Schools

    Adrian Walker


    Illinois Department of Natural Resources

    John Weber


    Wells Fargo Advisors

    Zach Shields

    Executive Director

    Decatur Public Schools Foundation

    New Trustees are nominated, evaluated and approved for admission by current Board members, with input from active prior members and founding directors. Trustees are elected to three-year terms which can be renewed once, for a total service tenure of six years.


    Regan Deering

    Judge Little

    “The importance of a public school education cannot be overstated. I believe a public education provides our young citizens with a sound academic foundation, an exposure to diversity, lifelong friends, and perhaps most importantly in these times, the ability to think clearly and independently. It is for these reasons that I am pleased to serve on the Foundation board.” – Judge Tom Little


    Past Foundation Trustees

    In chronological order of service 

    Peggy Madden, Jeff Black, John Cobb, Adele Glenn, Jane Johnson, Kim Leftwich, Bill Oliver, Dr. Bill Requarth, Bob Smith, Tom Swartz, Dr. Ken Arndt, Jackie Goetter, Monica Hawkins, Pat Laegeler, Cindy Neff, Chris Olsen, John Hedges, Helen Miller, Mac McPherson, Keith Casteel, Craig Huss, Duane Noland, Marilyn Davis, Ruth Cortright, Gary Likins, Gary McElfresh, Richard Demirjian, Alida Graham, Wole Adeoye, John Funk, Mike Gibson, Jan Mandernach, Lisa Holder White, Gloria J. Davis, Janis Kirby, Dave Butts, Jason Small, Lucy Smith, Tom Binder, Jim Forrester, Wendy Morthland, Brian Byers, T.J. Jackson, Jan Kelsheimer, Ron Pulera, Dan Winter, Tiffany Lukis, Stephen Pyle, Val Talley, Shirley Kistler, Dave Weber, Larry Altenbaumer, Shelith Hansbro, Daetta Jones, Brian Hodges, Lisa Taylor, Ryan McCrady, Sherri Perkins, Dr. Todd Werpy, Amy Chronister Ridley, Judge Tom Little, Michael Allen, Sue Pilling, Regan Andreas, Paul Fregeau, Bobbi Williams, Kim Hurm