Foundation Board of Trustees

  • “The importance of a public school education cannot be overstated. I believe a public education provides our young citizens with a sound academic foundation, an exposure to diversity, lifelong friends, and perhaps most importantly in these times, the ability to think clearly and independently. It is for these reasons that I am pleased to serve on the Foundation board.” — Judge Tom Little

    The Decatur Public Schools Foundation owes its existence to the foresight of our original stakeholders. They recognized that public schools across the country were facing financial challenges that would only grow more daunting. They established the Foundation and defined its mission to organize private resources in support of District #61. Reviewing the list of past Trustees reveals why our organization has been so successful. The roster includes individuals who are fully devoted to this community and who remain active participants in charting its future. We’re proud to count such individuals as friends and continual advisors. 

    2022-2023 Board of Trustees

    Name Foundation Role Professional Affiliation
    Dr. Rochelle Clark Trustee Superintendent, Decatur Public Schools
    Jennifer Cunningham Trustee VP of Human Resources, ADM
    Drew Early Trustee President & CEO, Decatur Memorial Hospital
    Nikki Garry Vice Chair Director of BIPOC Student Support, Millikin University
    Evyonne Hawkins Chair Professor of Education, Richland Community College
    Caleb Jump Trustee Wealth Management Director, Northwestern Mutual
    Myung Kim Trustee Retired, Tate & Lyle
    Regan Lewis Trustee Brown, Hay & Stephens, LLP; DPS Board of Education
    Shondra Lynch Trustee VP Private Wealth Advisor, Busey Wealth Management
    Dan Oakes Trustee Retired, DPS Board of Education
    Theresa Rutherford Trustee President & CEO, HSHS St. Mary's Hospital
    Chelsea Sargeant Trustee Supply Chain Management, Caterpillar
    Kathy Thompson Secretary Retired, Decatur Public Schools
    Adrian Walker Trustee IL Department of Natural Resources
    John Weber Treasurer Wells Fargo Advisors
    Zach Shields Executive Director Decatur Public Schools Foundation

    New Trustees are nominated, evaluated and approved for admission by current Board of Education members, with input from active prior members and founding directors. Trustees are elected to three-year terms which can be renewed once, for a total service tenure of six years.

    Past Foundation Trustees

    In chronological order of service 

    Peggy Madden, Jeff Black, John Cobb, Adele Glenn, Jane Johnson, Kim Leftwich, Bill Oliver, Dr. Bill Requarth, Bob Smith, Tom Swartz, Dr. Ken Arndt, Jackie Goetter, Monica Hawkins, Pat Laegeler, Cindy Neff, Chris Olsen, John Hedges, Helen Miller, Mac McPherson, Keith Casteel, Craig Huss, Duane Noland, Marilyn Davis, Ruth Cortright, Gary Likins, Gary McElfresh, Richard Demirjian, Alida Graham, Wole Adeoye, John Funk, Mike Gibson, Jan Mandernach, Lisa Holder White, Gloria J. Davis, Janis Kirby, Dave Butts, Jason Small, Lucy Smith, Tom Binder, Jim Forrester, Wendy Morthland, Brian Byers, T.J. Jackson, Jan Kelsheimer, Ron Pulera, Dan Winter, Tiffany Lukis, Stephen Pyle, Val Talley, Shirley Kistler, Dave Weber, Larry Altenbaumer, Shelith Hansbro, Daetta Jones, Brian Hodges, Lisa Taylor, Ryan McCrady, Sherri Perkins, Dr. Todd Werpy, Amy Chronister Ridley, Judge Tom Little, Michael Allen, Sue Pilling, Regan Andreas Deering, Paul Fregeau, Bobbi Williams, Kim Hurm

  • Central Cass
    Wish to support the mission of the Decatur Public Schools Foundation? Our Trustees connect your gift to those of other supporters to make a tremendous impact on our city's classrooms. You can check out our menu of specific options to contribute, or simply make a general gift for unrestricted use by the Foundation across a range of educational activities.
    Every contribution is 100% tax-deductible. Provide your contact information and our office will generate a Thank You letter for your records. 
  • DPS Foundation LogoThe Decatur Public Schools Foundation is a privately-funded, tax-exempt organization. Its mission is to acquire and distribute resources to Decatur Public Schools to enhance, enrich, and encourage learning opportunities for its students, staff, and community. It is directed by a volunteer Board of Trustees and operates independently to generate financial and in-kind support for District #61.